LaPorteCountyLife default share image
valpolife logo portagelife logo nwindianalife logo Share good news

ArcelorMittal's Bill Sammon and Tom Barnett Challenge Themselves to Bike to Work Each Year


Bill Sammon, Purchasing Manager, and Tom Barnett, Manager of Environmental Technology, have been working at ArcelorMittal for around 40 years. For both of them, the mill has been a great place to work since the beginning. Their motivated coworkers, on top of the challenging work environment, make coming to work every day enjoyable, even if that means by bike!

Read more

Franciscan Health Dyer: And the Nurses Choice Award Winners Are...

Franciscan-Health-Dyer-And-the-Nurses-Choice-Award-Winners-AreFranciscan Health Dyer Nurses Choice Award winners were recognized and given gifts and accolades during a recent, annual Nurses Week celebration at the hospital. Winners are selected based on nominations by their peers.

Read more

Franciscan Health Munster: Nursing Award Winners

Franciscan-Health-Munster-Nursing-Award-Winners-2018Franciscan Health Munster Nurses Choice Award winners were recognized and given gifts and accolades during a recent, annual Nurses Week celebration at the hospital. Winners are selected based on nominations by their peers.

Read more

La Porte County Habitat for Humanity Welcomes New Board Member

La-Porte-County-Habitat-for-Humanity-Welcomes-New-Board-MemberLa Porte County Habitat for Humanity has elected Brian Coleman of Michigan City to its Board of Directors.

Read more

Franciscan Health Dyer and Munster: Franciscan’s Sister Aline a Local Leader of Women

Franciscan-Health-Dyer-and-Munster-Franciscans-Sister-Aline-a-Local-Leader-of-WomenSister Aline Shultz, vice president and chief operating officer for Franciscan Health Dyer and Munster, has been selected as an inaugural board member for the Northwest Indiana Influential Women Association, which represents Lake, Porter and LaPorte counties. Sister Aline has had a long involvement in supporting female business leaders and her efforts have received strong recognition. In 2010, she was selected the Female Healthcare Hero in Northwest Indiana for her contributions influencing aspiring women leaders in health care to pursue advanced degrees, and for her work with the Advisory Board of the Purdue University School of Nursing and the dean, to bring an on-site master’s degree programs to Franciscan Health nurses.

Read more

City of La Porte Bio: Beth Shrader


As city planner, Beth serves as the administrator for the Redevelopment Commission, the Historic Preservation Commission, the Business Improvement District, and the design standards committees. She also serves as staff for the Board of Zoning Appeals and the Plan Commission, manages tax abatements, and works on many fun special projects throughout the city.

Read more

Center for Hospice Care: Mark Murray

Center-for-Hospice-Care-Mark-Murray“I am dedicated to the mission and honored to work with such an outstanding group of caring, compassionate staff and volunteers. I have enjoyed seeing how far we have come through the years, but also realize there is much work yet to do.”

Read more

Purdue University Northwest Announces Executive Director of Global Engagement


Purdue University Northwest (PNW) is pleased to announce the appointment of George F. Kacenga, Ph.D. as its first executive director of Global Engagement effective July 1, 2018.

Read more

EDCMC to Celebrate Business Investments with Awards Dinner

EDCMC-to-Celebrate-Business-Investments-with-Awards-Dinner-2018 The Economic Development Corporation Michigan City (EDCMC) will be hosting its 2018 Business Investment & Anniversary Awards Dinner on Thursday, May 17th, 2018 at the Blue Chip Casino Hotel & Spa in Michigan City. The dinner event, which is held every two years, recognizes local companies that have made substantial investments in their business during 2016 and 2017, as well as, honors businesses who are celebrating special anniversaries.

Read more

City of La Porte Bio: Nick Otis

City-of-La-Porte-Bio-Nick-OtisNick Otis serves as the City Attorney for the City of La Porte. He is a partner at Newby, Lewis, Kaminski & Jones, LLP. Nick grew up in La Porte and is a 2001 graduate of La Porte High School. He graduated in 2005 from Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee and was a four-year member of the Belmont University Men’s Basketball Team. Nick graduated from Valparaiso University School of Law in 2008 and received a full academic scholarship and participated in Valparaiso’s Honor’s Program.

Read more

Lubeznik Center Announces Lora Fosberg as New Director of Exhibitions

Lubeznik-Center-Announces-Lora-Fosberg-as-New-Director-of-Exhibitions CarolAnn Brown, Curator of Exhibitions at Lubeznik Center for the Arts (LCA), recently announced her resignation to pursue independent artistic projects. Ms. Brown served as LCA's curator for 12 years. During her tenure she mounted exhibitions that explored intriguing themes such as relationships between humans and animals in "The Hunt, The Prey The Spirit" and "Magical Realism".

Read more

1   2   3   4   ... Last