valpolife logo portagelife logo nwindianalife logo Share good news

La Lumiere Seniors Named Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program

La Lumiere seniors Annabelle C. Lake of La Porte and Katherine (Katie) E. Rowan of Munster were named Semifinalists in the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program. Annabelle, daughter of John and Mary Lake, is the Head Prefect of La Lumiere School, the head of Yearbook Club, and a member of the National Honor Society, Latin Honor Society, and girls’ soccer team. Katie, daughter of Dr. John Rowan and Cecelia Wagner, is a member of the French National Honor Society and the girls’ volleyball team, and performs in drama productions and with the Improv Club at La Lumiere.

Semifinalists like Lake and Rowan represent less than one percent of all U.S. high school seniors. In the 2019 competition, approximately 16,000 Semifinalists have been named out of over 1.6 million students who entered by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as juniors in 2017.

Among students who advance to the Finalist level––to be announced in February 2019––approximately half will go on to win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. They will count among 338,000 distinguished young people who have already earned the Merit Scholar title throughout the program’s 63-year history.

Copyright © 2018 Ideas in Motion Media